4 star

Doubletree By Hilton London Excel

2 Festoon Way, Royal Victoria Dock, City of London, London, E16 1RH

<< Previous page

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our average guest rating is the mean of the most recent 100 assessments.

Average guest rating:

Good

88% (195 reviews)

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

Excellent

11/12/2016

"A lovely overnight stay "

Upon entering the hotel we were received by friendly and helpful staff . We only stayed for one night , the room was sparse, clean and comfortable with hairdryer , tea and coffee available. The shower room was very clean with large powerful shower complete with shampoo etc . We went down for breakfast which was included and expected just a continental breakfast but cooked food was also there for us to eat . I would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly stay again. Very impressed for the price we paid.

Guest rating:

Excellent

26/8/2016

"Staff very helpful and friendl. Room very good."

Guest rating:

Excellent

28/3/2016

"Excellent "

Very good staff, just limited parking is a problem!

Guest rating:

Good

8/12/2015

"Clean & comfortable "

Just spent a weekend in London, booked 2 nights stay at the Ramada at the Docklands. Had an enjoyable stay, we were given an upgrade, room was lovely & spacious, all linen brilliant white , including towels.lge tv in each room , free wifi, breakfast included was enjoyable, good choice. Only one criticism, no mirror in bedroom, would be handy when drying you hair .

Guest rating:

Excellent

2/11/2015

"-"

we arrived at the hotel early and they checked us in straight away as our room was ready.the staff were very pleasant and helpful. We have stayed once before and it was the same as weremembered it. Clean rooms. Compfy beds. The breakfast is very good. A wide range for everybody.Will certainly stay here again if we need to go to London and especially if we go to the O2 againas the DRL is a few minutes away.

Guest rating:

Good

31/10/2015

"-"

Great Hotel, very clean, fantastic breakfast and very helpful staff. Would stay here again.

Guest rating:

Excellent

6/9/2015

"-"

We had a lovely overnight stay.2nd floor with dockland view.hotel great,restaurant really great food .staff really attentive,room really clean. Would stay again.

Guest rating:

Excellent

23/8/2015

"-"

clean room,lovely food, helpful staff,

Guest rating:

Good

30/7/2015

"Standard business type hotel. Too "

Guest rating:

Good

28/7/2015

"Great Location"

We enjoyed our stay. The accommodation was comfortable. Very convenient for DLR and brilliant views over Victoria Dock. Only negative was at breakfast. We have never had to queue before. Too many people, not enough staff (those that were on were working incredibly hard). Reduced choice because some items ran out.

Guest rating:

Average

28/7/2015

"Basic and nothing in the vicinity; worth paying extra for something more central to London"

The hotel boasts a waterfront location yet our room was on the first floor directly overlooking the car park with no water in sight. The room was very dark, with only a double bed (you usually get a queen or king size in other hotels) and no fridge. Very basic. Clean but a bit dated. Only worth booking this hotel if you`re visiting the 02 or Excel. Took far too long on the tube to get to central London, with multiple changes to get anywhere; it took us an hour to get from Covent Garden back to the hotel after a visit to the theatre.

Guest rating:

Excellent

2/3/2015

"An Excellent Hotel"

Really nice Hotel with an excellent level of service. We would definately use the Hotel again.

Guest rating:

Excellent

19/2/2015

"-"

Location excellent for excel centre, less so for central London- took about 40 minutes plus to get to London.Hotel clean, food very good and staff very efficient and friendly. Comfortable bedrooms, clean and well maintained,would stay again even though 40 minutes journey

Guest rating:

Good

14/2/2015

"-"

Polite, friendly service great breakfast, however bed makes you roll to middle so not a great night sleep. Could have just been our bed.

Guest rating:

Average

8/12/2014

"Nice hotel food and drink VERY EXPENSIVE. Breakfast Luke warm.Have to chase waiters for coffee very"

Guest rating:

Good

13/11/2014

"Very helpful staff. Good location for O2 arena."

Hotel very clean. Breakfast good. Comfortable beds and no noise heard from airport nearby.Badly chipped washbasin in room. Needs to be replaced. First hotel been to where no biscuits supplied on tea/coffee tray. Overall good hotel and would definitely return.

Guest rating:

Average

12/11/2014

"Rooms new upgrading breakfast was luke warm and room tooo hot "

Wouldn`t stay again lot of money for what is was r

Guest rating:

Good

3/11/2014

"very helpful staff"

when we arrived we were not on their "booked in " list , embarrised !!! .. Reception helpful with taxi"s

Guest rating:

Excellent

28/8/2014

"Fabulous hotel!"

Fabulous hotel, friendly staff, clean and well equiped rooms. Close to DLR tube, ideal for city commute, only 15 minutes. Will defiantly be returning there. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!

Guest rating:

Average

24/8/2014

"-"

the breakfast was the worst we have ever had sausages were raw, bacon overcooked, beans and mushrooms were cold didn`t dare try the scrambled egg as looked watery and uninviting, would also recommend more milk In the room for tea and coffee also some biscuits would be nice.

Guest rating:

Good

11/8/2014

"Overall good"

We have stayed in the hotel before and returned because we liked it. This time we were given a room with disabled facilities, which wasn`t as nice as other rooms.

Guest rating:

Excellent

10/8/2014

"Stay at Ramada, Docklands was very good, "

Facilities excellent, staff could not be more helpful, however taxi booked from Ramada to London Euston railway station was a nightmare!! It took taxi driver three attempts just to get out of hotel car park and driving to station was most erratic.

Guest rating:

Good

5/8/2014

"Good experience, would stay there again."

Pleasant staff, good breakfast, no hassle. Had a family room, not very big but functional. Needed the washbasin replacing as it had a massive crack, NOT caused by us! Good location out of the city, DLR close by.

Guest rating:

Good

3/8/2014

"Great staff - bed could have been better."

Guest rating:

Excellent

27/7/2014

"Monty Python attracted us Ramada extended the enjoyment"

The traffic on the Friday afternoon was dreadful the heat was immense but the staff on arrival were calming and considerate, The availability of a smoking room meant that although not a big smoker my wife did not have to leave our room to relax with one. We returned after the show and the bar staff were willing and accommodating and content to serve meals after 11.30. Breakfast next morning looking over the river was divine and Ramada has gone to the top of our list of places to stay.

Guest rating:

Excellent

26/7/2014

"Lovely hotel"

Recently stayed at Ramada Docklands for my mums 60th birthday and to go and see Robbie Williams, the location was excellent for the O2 with a 5 min walk to the tube station it a good location for visiting all of London. We had a lovely room overlooking docks and O2 and all the staff were so helpful and friendly, thanks so much to Navid who arranged a birthday cake for my Mum such a lovely thing to do. Best hotel I have stayed in for a long time.

Guest rating:

Excellent

20/7/2014

"Very good service at all times. Convenient for the O2 and Central London generally."

Guest rating:

Good

19/7/2014

"Good location for O2"

Stayed one night at this hotel for an event at the O2 arena. Wasn`t sure on booking whether we were in the right area but 4 tube stops with one change made it a 15 minute journey to the arena so very convenient. Staff friendly and helpful, room spacious and comfortable. The main thing I look for in a hotel is friendly staff and a clean, tidy room and this hotel definitely ticks the boxes.

Guest rating:

Average

19/7/2014

"-"

Although a good enough hotel with spacious suites, a good breakfast buffet and helpful staff -this hotel is across the river from the O2 - so if you intend to go there by taxi expect a fare of around 20 -30. It is however fairly close to the DLR if you intend to go by public transport. If you are going to the excel - it is next door!

Guest rating:

Excellent

14/7/2014

"-"

Very clean. Staff absolutely lovely, friendly and helpful. Would def recommend.

Guest rating:

Good

5/7/2014

"Good value for money"

The hotel is modern and very clean, everything you need in room and staff are all polite and welcoming. I will definitely be saying here again .

Guest rating:

Good

3/7/2014

"-"

nice hotel...a little away from the City but easy enough to get to. Staff friendly and very courteous

Guest rating:

Good

28/4/2014

"Comfortable, clean hotel"

Easy to drive to, without going all the way into London, bonus free parking( if there is a space available) fortunately for us there was. Walking distance to the nearest train station. Not a pretty area of London, and It is very close to the city airport and we thought that sound would be a problem, but it wasn`t. Breakfast was very good in the hotel, staff very helpful. Overall a comfortable 2days before retuning to Australia.

Guest rating:

Excellent

24/2/2014

"I would say is is the best hotel i have stay inevery way. try it for your selfs"

Guest rating:

Excellent

17/9/2013

"The breakfast and supper very good. The staff were very helpful and polite, well done"

Guest rating:

Excellent

8/9/2013

"A real pleasant stay excellent allround service "

Not our normal hotel as we like to be in centre of london but what a hotel service exceptional rooms spotless massive showers everything in the room you need. The food in hotel excels itself from breakfast to the meals in the stresa restaraunt they were excellent. A short walk to the DLR tube connection overhall a excellent stay and we shall certainly be back thank you

Guest rating:

Good

27/7/2013

"Excellent service, good room, good breakfast including gluten free offer. "

Strongly recommend this for attentive service and good rooms. Excellent value.

Guest rating:

Good

25/7/2013

"Comfortable and excellent breakfast. "

We stayed one night. We were worried it would be extremely noisy because of the close proximity to the City airport. However the ros had air conditioning and you could not hear a sound. The price was not too expensive although it was mid week. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast fresh and varied. Service was good. The only down side was the distance from the west end as we went to see a show. It took 45 mins on the DLR/ tube lines. So would choose one nearer the west end next time.

Guest rating:

Excellent

23/6/2013

"The staff were helpfull the room was clean & fresh.the breakfast was 10 out 10 "

On our next trip we will return to the ramada

Guest rating:

Good

22/6/2013

"Value for the money, close to tube, met our needs."

Just about 4* but lacked finishing touches.

More reviews >>

Expert advice

1800 937 937
Mon-Fri: 9am-8pm
Sat: 9am-5.30pm
Sun: 10am-6.30pm

Our rating system

Guest ratings and reviews are the opinions of our guests and not necessarily an expression of Hotel Direct opinion.

Excellent

Excellent

Good

Good

Average

Average

Some problems

Some problems

Poor

Poor