4 star

Thistle Hyde Park

90-92 Lancaster Gate, Bayswater, London, W2 3NR

<< Previous page

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our average guest rating is the mean of the most recent 100 assessments.

Average guest rating:

Good

89% (224 reviews)

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

Good

20/6/2019

"Very friendly cabs helpful staff"

Guest rating:

Excellent

10/6/2019

"-"

very helpful staff lovely comfortable clean rooms Fabulous stay thamkyou

Guest rating:

Excellent

14/4/2019

"Great "

Lovely hotel

Guest rating:

Good

25/11/2018

"Comfortable and clean. Staff friendly, good location with the Park and tube stations so close. "

Guest rating:

Excellent

26/10/2018

"so so"

Adequate, tired hotel, needs a kick up the proverbials to bring into line with other prestigious hotels. room 125 was large and dull arranged over the slamming of the front door throughout the evening. Thank you for deciding we merited special attention and allocating us this room.

Guest rating:

Excellent

3/6/2018

"-"

Full of character. Great location opposite entrance to Hyde park and 5 minute walk to tube. Comfy beds, spacious room (junior suite) - views of the park. Lovely breakfast - buffet style - REAL coffee 128077;. Helpful staff, smiley and warm.

Hotel response from Hotel Operations Manager

5/6/2018

Dear guest,Thank you so much for this nice feedback.Will make sure this is passed on to the team.Kind RegardsCeline T

Guest rating:

Excellent

9/2/2018

"very welcomig nice rooms good breakfast"

Guest rating:

Excellent

16/12/2017

"Really Nice Hotel In A Great Location"

Very good hotel, very friendly staff and great location. Visited London many times and this is the best stay we have had. Will certainly stay again.

Guest rating:

Average

24/11/2017

"-"

Great location, but the hotel itself is worn and tired. Our bathroom had water stains in the bath and worn enamel and the room had paint peeling on the wall. The staff were very friendly and attentive though.

Guest rating:

Poor

17/11/2017

"Terrible!"

Bathroom filthy, grouting missing, taps loose and rentokill packets under the bed - not what you expect from a 4 star hotel!

Guest rating:

Good

19/4/2017

"Well located hotel...2 minutes from the tube"

A lovely traditional hotel, overlooking Kensington Gardens. The room was perfect in size for 3 of us, however, the bathrooms need some TLC...some regrouting, loose tap and toilet flush had to be looked at.Good choice for breakfast and staff were lovely and very helpful.

Guest rating:

Excellent

9/4/2017

"Perfect location "

Very clean hotel in a fab location! 2 mins from the bus stop and tube station. I would definitely book this hotel again as it is in a lovely quiet location, overlooking Hyde park but your not far from the hustle and bustle of oxford street!

Guest rating:

Excellent

31/3/2017

"Lovely Hotel "

Lovely hotel friendly helpful staff . Ideally situated for central London attractions . We would definitely return

Guest rating:

Good

30/3/2017

"-"

Very comfortable room. Pleasant and helpful staff.

Guest rating:

Excellent

29/3/2017

"The staff were lovely & very helpful. Hotel was immaculate & well worth a visit, would go again."

Guest rating:

Good

26/3/2017

"Great location, very clean, staff very welcoming "

Guest rating:

Good

21/2/2017

"-"

A very nice hotel

Guest rating:

Good

7/2/2017

"-"

Excellent old fashioned hotel on. Great location next to Hyde Park. Would benefit from an upgrade in the plumbing systeM but that was a small price to pay for otherwise high quality and great service

Guest rating:

Some problems

20/11/2016

"Dirty bedding"

We thought the hotel very nice until we came to getting into bed, bedding is dirty , I have taken a picture

Guest rating:

Good

31/10/2016

"An old fashioned hotel of good quality. "

We were happy with everything but the plumbing in the bathroom need upgrading.

Guest rating:

Good

11/8/2016

"-"

a lovely hotel and staff.had to ring reception on first night at 1.30am because of noise. it was sorted and the staff apollogised.they cant help inconsiderate guests.will be back.

Guest rating:

Good

4/8/2016

"Handy location"

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, close to the two tubes which takes you on either the Central or District lines, good restaurants in Bayswater just 3 min walk away. Hotel staff excellent especially Barbara on reception she couldn`t have done enough for us.

Guest rating:

Average

12/7/2016

"Standard hotel absolutely fine for an overnight stay."

Although it was a fairly hot day, the bedroom, and the hotel in general, was like an oven. Walking into the downstairs toilets was like entering a sauna. Cold water tap in the bedroom was luke warm... not cold. No alternative drinking water in the room.Whilst i appreciate its London 24.00 for 1 nights parking is extreme.

Guest rating:

Some problems

27/6/2016

"Lovely hotel, very clean and good service"

Only one problem and that was that our room was very hot, the air conditioning did not appear to be working correctly and the radiator in the bathroom was boiling hot! This made it very difficult sleeping as we were there in June.

Guest rating:

Good

9/6/2016

"Good Location"

Good clean hotel with friendly staff. Make sure you include breakfast in your package as it`s a bit price otherwise. Some parking but it does cost 24 a night.

Guest rating:

Good

15/5/2016

"Good position, opposite Hyde Park."

Guest rating:

Average

8/5/2016

"Comfortable, friendly but toooooo hot!"

Guest rating:

Average

20/4/2016

"Poor breakfast and average accommodation but good location"

Guest rating:

Excellent

5/4/2016

"-"

Enjoyed stay. Very clean and friendly staff. Superb rooms and great location. Disappointed no main restaurant but limited menu offered. Would stay there again.

Guest rating:

Good

18/2/2016

"Staff couldn`t be more helpful or polite."

A fabulous location and would consider staying again. We were upgraded to a deluxe room which was a real treat. However, when does shabby chic become just shabby? After the initial wow factor of the large well decorated and presented room wore off, we began to realise that the bathroom was rather dirty, some really cheap fittings, plug sockets not working and a lead so short on the kettle we had to prop it up on an upturned tray to use it. This said the location and friendliness of the staff more than made up for it.

Guest rating:

Good

2/1/2016

"Very friendly staff. The room was a great size but lots of road noise and the shower only does hot"

Guest rating:

Excellent

13/12/2015

"Good quality"

the hotel is in an excellent location, the rooms were huge and very well equipped. The only down side for me is the 24 per day to use the hotel car park.

Guest rating:

Good

7/12/2015

"Conveniently situated with easy access to the tube. Very helpful and polite staff. "

The food was good, however the breakfast could have been hotter. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Guest rating:

Excellent

23/11/2015

"Great hotel and location"

Staff extremely friendly and helpful, location was perfect and room was great

Guest rating:

Good

19/10/2015

"Thistle Hyde Park"

Staff were pleasant and helpful. The rooms were clean. The room for a double advance seemed a little small and our main light didn`t work but apart from that a very enjoyable stay.

Guest rating:

Poor

2/7/2015

"Awful!!!"

Deluxe twin paid 224. Sharing with a work colleague bed 5inches apart!!!!!!! Couldn`t move as fixed side tables. Boiling hot no air on. Very old hotel. Do not stay here!

Guest rating:

Excellent

25/6/2015

"Comfortable spacious room. Good customer service from staff. Would re-visit ."

Guest rating:

Good

23/6/2015

"-"

Free upgrade to deluxe room. Much appreciated. More space in room. Fridge very useful and air conditioning was good.Slight problems with water flow to shower but as old building, to be expected. Nice hotel, staff friendly. Hotel in good area central for all amenities.

Guest rating:

Excellent

18/6/2015

"-"

Hotel lovely and staff really helpful. Nothing too much trouble. Would definitely stay here again. Location great opposite Hyde Park.

Guest rating:

Good

8/6/2015

"Thrilled at being upgraded to a Junior Suite!"

On arrival we were told we had been upgraded from a Twin Room to a Junior Suite - as this was a girly week-end with my Best Friend this was such a treat! The room was lovely, the bath HUGE and all the staff were really friendly and helpful. The hotel is lovely and only a few minutes walk from Lancaster Gate tube station and it overlooks Hyde Park. Our only criticism was that the room was very, very hot and although we set the `air con` to Cold, nothing really seemed to happen. Despite that, we would definitely stay here again if we even spend another week-end in London.

More reviews >>

Expert advice

1800 937 937
Mon-Fri: 9am-8pm
Sat: 9am-5.30pm
Sun: 10am-6.30pm

Our rating system

Guest ratings and reviews are the opinions of our guests and not necessarily an expression of Hotel Direct opinion.

Excellent

Excellent

Good

Good

Average

Average

Some problems

Some problems

Poor

Poor