3 star

Thistle Barbican Shoreditch

Central Street, Clerkenwell, City of London, London, EC1V 8DS

<< Previous page

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our average guest rating is the mean of the most recent 100 assessments.

Average guest rating:

Good

85% (1640 reviews)

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

Excellent

18/8/2019

"Clean and lovely "

We been here twice now very good breakfast and ideal for Theatre package and hotel is clean and spacial

Guest rating:

Average

18/8/2019

"-"

Tired

Guest rating:

Excellent

15/8/2019

"-"

Nice clean room, Staff friendly and helpful, allowed us to store our luggage after check out to collect later in the day, which we much appreciated

Guest rating:

Excellent

14/8/2019

"Does what it says on the tin. "

Very good room. Great food. Even better breakfast. Very good pool. 8 into the city in a cab? Well worth it. macca.

Guest rating:

Good

12/8/2019

"-"

Slow check-in

Guest rating:

Good

12/8/2019

"-"

This is one of our favorite hotels, we have stayed here at least 5 times for shows or birthdays, Great staff, great service, decent rooms.

Guest rating:

Excellent

11/8/2019

"No issues"

Good

Guest rating:

Excellent

11/8/2019

"Wonderful"

The hotel was great . The staff are very friendly, the room very spacious and clean, and the bed was sooo comfy. What a good idea to have a ceiling fan it kept the room lovely and cool. We had a brilliant 2 night stay .Thank you to everyone concerned.

Guest rating:

Excellent

11/8/2019

"Thistle Hotel, Barbican, London"

A very comfortable hotel, with excellent staff, and high hygiene standards, we were booked in on room only basis, but when the heard that it was my friends birthday and that was the purpose of our visit they gave us breakfast free gratis, as a special gift to her. Thank you Thistle and hopefully we may see you again in the future.

Guest rating:

Excellent

10/8/2019

"Hotel in relation to the theatre"

Thistle Barbican Hotel was 45 minutes to an hour from the Aldwych Theatre, half of which was walking and the remainder by tube.

Guest rating:

Good

9/8/2019

"Does what it says on the tin"

Staff great, hotel accommodation is basic, no air con but thankful for the fan! No breakfast room service, ok place to stay can`t complain

Guest rating:

Average

8/8/2019

"Dining table and dining room not very clean."

Nice clean room good bed, not to noisy, thank you.

Guest rating:

Average

7/8/2019

"Nothing out of the ordinary"

The room did not have air conditioning but had an air fan, which did little to cool the room down.We ate in the restaurant on the first evening and the food was not great. We also had a visit to the pool which was pleasant after a long day in London. The staff were friendly.

Guest rating:

Average

5/8/2019

"Very noisy room . Ended up with lots of bites . "

Guest rating:

Good

3/8/2019

"Spacious"

Upgraded to junior suite very luxurious but a little tired

Guest rating:

Excellent

1/8/2019

"excellent value"

Guest rating:

Average

25/7/2019

"-"

No air con. Shower weak, difficult to regulate temperature of water.

Guest rating:

Good

23/7/2019

"Great value - wonderful pool and friendly staff"

We stayed for one night and apart from a 20 minute wait at Reception it was all good - especially the swimming pool on a very hot day.

Guest rating:

Good

22/7/2019

"Nice Hotel"

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel and would use it again.

Guest rating:

Average

22/7/2019

"Food . Stopped serving food at 11pm . For hotel this size Thought you would of had a 24 hr service"

Room was ok . Staff friendly . A bit out of the way from any where .

Guest rating:

Good

20/7/2019

"Comfortable bed "

Air con was great and comfortable bed, room was deluxe double but seemed more standard bathroom was a bit tired but adequate. Food in bar okay.

Guest rating:

Excellent

19/7/2019

"-"

Reception staff friendly and helpful, location further out than we thought, used local bus . Room very clean and comfortable, no street or traffic noise.

Guest rating:

Excellent

18/7/2019

"Comfortable"

As always this hotel was comfortable. The staff made our check in and out run very smoothly. We had breakfast on our last day and it was exceptional. The hot food was hot, the plates for the hot food were hot, you don`t always get that in other hotels I have been to before. Breakfast was lovely.

Guest rating:

Average

15/7/2019

"Clean and tidy "

Was clean and tidy but bath very slow to run. Windows could do with replacing and t.v needs updating as only had 5 channels.

Guest rating:

Average

14/7/2019

"Breakfast best part "

Guest rating:

Excellent

14/7/2019

"-"

Exceptional service from EDIT on reception overall - will put on must return list

Guest rating:

Some problems

12/7/2019

"-"

Check in staff was dreadful

Guest rating:

Excellent

10/7/2019

"One of the best London hotels."

The Thistle Barbican is the best hotel my partner and I have stayed in when in London, The service from the fantastic reception staff, bar staff and restaurant staff is top notch. If there is anything you need just ask and they will do their upmost to help. Breakfast is fantastic with plenty of choice with staff always on hand to help. The deluxe rooms are lovely and worth paying that bit extra. I would highly recommend and shall stay here again when we are next in London.

Guest rating:

Good

7/7/2019

"-"

very nice hotel, have stayed there 3 times now and would recommend

Guest rating:

Average

7/7/2019

"Excellent service"

Guest rating:

Good

6/7/2019

"Well worth a stay"

Warm welcoming staff, clean, room lovely (425) just not enough plug socket. Only issue and it is a small one, pool and pool showers need re-tiling. Well placed for tube and buses to visit all parts of London

Guest rating:

Excellent

29/6/2019

"Fantastic hotel very polite and helpful staff would recommend to anyone"

Must say a special thank you to Wilfred at the hotels reception for helping my wife and I get a low floor room and help with our luggage very kind

Guest rating:

Good

29/6/2019

"Friendly staff and comfortable room. Worth a visit even if its location is strange"

Guest rating:

Good

23/6/2019

"-"

Everything we needed from a theatre break. Good breakfast, would stay again.

Guest rating:

Good

9/6/2019

"-"

Generally good- spa and pool were nice but the room was very run down

Guest rating:

Excellent

3/6/2019

"a lovely hotel"

we was looked after all weekend great staff great service look forward to our next stay

Guest rating:

Excellent

29/5/2019

"-"

Would recommend to friends, excellent service friendly efficient staff

Guest rating:

Good

24/5/2019

"Very comfortable room and professional staff"

Guest rating:

Good

20/5/2019

"Enjoyed my stay"

Guest rating:

Excellent

14/5/2019

"Lovely staff, good breakfast and good rooms. "

More reviews >>

Expert advice

1800 937 937
Mon-Fri: 9am-8pm
Sat: 9am-5.30pm
Sun: 10am-6.30pm

Our rating system

Guest ratings and reviews are the opinions of our guests and not necessarily an expression of Hotel Direct opinion.

Excellent

Excellent

Good

Good

Average

Average

Some problems

Some problems

Poor

Poor