4 star

Thistle Kensington Gardens

104 Bayswater Road, Bayswater, London, W2 3HL

<< Previous page

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our average guest rating is the mean of the most recent 100 assessments.

Average guest rating:

Good

83% (343 reviews)

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

Excellent

27/5/2019

"Excellent hotel"

Stayed here end of may, Breakfast was lovely, rooms nice and clean and beds really comfortable, very friendly staff on reception, hope to stay here next time

Guest rating:

Good

25/5/2019

"Excellent breakfast. "

Guest rating:

Excellent

25/1/2019

"A little gem of a hotel"

The rooms are small but very nicely appointed the large shower being a particular treat. Great location and nicely decorated. Would thoroughly recommend.

Guest rating:

Some problems

26/6/2018

"Disappointing standards"

Heating / Cooling system faulty . Engineer attempted to correct it when we arrived . It could not be rectified . Moved to another twin room , smaller size and no bath. It appeared to be equipped for one person. Receptionist informed us this was an executive room, which it clearly wasn`t. Shower door would not shut properly, making it impossible to keep water from leaking onto the bathroom floor. Shower room had water stains on door. Carpet stained.Room keys would not work. Definitely not 4 star standard. Disappointed.

Guest rating:

Good

13/4/2018

"Well located hotel"

The Thistle Kensington Gardens Hotel is well located, right next to Hyde Park. I had let the Hotel know that the trip was for my daughters 18th and we had a room overlooking the park and a slice of cake waiting for us in our room. We opted to pay for breakfast on arrival and it was very good. Service and staff was very good and friendly.One of our rooms had a fault on the bathroom sink, but once reported was fixed promptly.

Guest rating:

Excellent

1/4/2018

"excellent. good service. looked after really good. no regrets"

Guest rating:

Excellent

25/3/2018

"Great location clean modern and friendly"

Guest rating:

Excellent

21/2/2018

"-"

Our stay at the hotel was absolutely fabulous! It is one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in, we cannot recommend it highly enough. Superb.

Guest rating:

Some problems

5/12/2017

"-"

The TV was fuzzy and only had channels 1-5The mattress was uncomfortable and you could feel the springs

Guest rating:

Good

9/9/2017

"relaxing and enjoyable lovely clean rooms"

Guest rating:

Good

15/5/2017

"good central position"

as stated above overlooking Kensington gardens so very central the room was at the back so only saw the air cond duckting from the room 206 and there were red stains on the carpet hence the good not excellent.The restaurant staff were excellent,as were the the front desk.

Guest rating:

Excellent

25/4/2017

"wWnderful Stay"

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Thistle. The hotel is very welcoming, impeccably clean, and comfortable. The service is warm and friendly. Nothing was too much to ask. I would gladly go back there. It deserves the rating that I am giving it.

Guest rating:

Average

23/4/2017

"-"

Good location. However the room was tiny. Possibly the smallest room I`ve ever stopped in. Everything in the room was pretty basic. Probably would`ve complained if I`d not got a good deal.

Guest rating:

Excellent

4/4/2017

"Fantastic views from room 709"

Guest rating:

Excellent

22/2/2017

"A great find."

The hotel is modern and very clean, we got a room upgrade overlooking Hyde park which was really nice. The room was spacious enough, big comfy bed and all the staff were brilliant, especially Roberta and Esme. Will definitely use again, breakfast was good to. Have been given a voucher for free breakfast next time as well. Tube station not far to walk, good base for days out to.

Guest rating:

Good

28/11/2016

"Reception was overly busy at times but very helpful. Layout of area not great. Good Value."

Guest rating:

Good

27/11/2016

"It would of been an excellent review except for the female members of the reception staff such a sha"

The lovely bedroom with bath and views. The very nice young gentleman in the restaurant. Great location.

Guest rating:

Good

14/11/2016

"Noisy ventilation in the night."

Guest rating:

Excellent

24/10/2016

"Great location. Clean and modern rooms. Food and drink good. Very pleased. "

Guest rating:

Good

10/7/2016

"Courtesy staff"

Stayed last night checked in just after Tkae that concert, it was shift change over as well. Bar filled up very quickly and it got a bit overwhelming for staff. But they were amazing Robert behind the bar was attentive and polite. The manager was very good as well reacting to where the problems were. They did well, hot food could have been on for longer

Guest rating:

Good

8/7/2016

"Nice, clean, well located."

Nice and clean, well located for Hyde Park concert. Parking on site reasonably priced, half price at 12 for 24hrs.Hotel bar not too expensive. It`s above a petrol station! but don`t let it put you off. Staff polite. Recommended.No problems.

Guest rating:

Excellent

6/7/2016

"would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel very enjoyable stay"

Most enjoyable stay and very pleased with the service in all departments most helpful reception staff and informative with all queries good food with lovely breakfasts and very nice meals comfortable wellmaintained rooms would certainly return

Guest rating:

Excellent

5/7/2016

"Our room was clean and tidy, we were welcomed by friendly helpful staff."

Guest rating:

Excellent

25/4/2016

"Great stay"

Lovely hotel very clean great staff had a great stay near a tube so handy for everything

Guest rating:

Excellent

26/2/2016

"Best all round"

All good

Guest rating:

Excellent

25/1/2016

"Excellent customer service and accomodation"

The location of the hotel was ideal for the areas we wished to visit

Guest rating:

Excellent

22/12/2015

"Helpful and friendly staff"

Nice clean room, good staff. Restaurant food was ok

Guest rating:

Good

21/12/2015

"-"

Room service hot food was not available only sandwiches

Guest rating:

Excellent

15/12/2015

"-"

Wonderful hotel, beautiful location overlooking Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park and ideally situated for sightseeing around London.

Guest rating:

Excellent

13/12/2015

"-"

The hotel was excellent staff you could not fault .

Guest rating:

Excellent

9/12/2015

"Excellent value for money"

We were upgraded when thay discovered that it was my wife`s birthday and we had travelled to London to take in a show.All the staff we encountered were very pleasant and helpful and would recommend a stay at this hotel.

Guest rating:

Excellent

8/12/2015

"Excellent Service - Lovely stay!"

My sister and I stayed for her 50th birthday for one night. We were greeted by Dale on reception who was lovely. We were upgraded to Executive Double Suite and she was given a bottle of white wine as a birthday gift! the room was clean and spacious. everything was clean. all the staff we encountered were very friendly. the breakfast in the morning was delicious and hot and there was plenty of everything. it did seem a bit chaotic but we only had to wait a few minutes. i can imagine if the hotel was busy there would be a queue as you had to be seated.the only thing i would say (and if important to you - i wasnt bothered) is that their wi-fi was slow but we didn`t need to use it. Otherwise i cannot fault our stay and would highly recommend to anyone.

Guest rating:

Average

7/12/2015

"3* Hotel"

The hotel is in a good location very close to Queensway tube station. However it lets itself down on little but important features in my opinion. Breakfast is a joke. Clearly not enough staff on to clear away and clean tables. Long waiting times which you just don`t expect. Decent size room with nice view over Hyde park, but a fridge would have been good as would have a generous level of milk/tea/coffee etc. Instead every time we wanted a drink we had to ring reception for someone to bring it up to our room.

Guest rating:

Good

6/12/2015

"Great hotel"

This is a great hotel and the staff are lovely. My only gripe is the rooms are very small so with two of you with bags it`s a bit cramped. This was our second stay and will stay again as the location is perfect.

Guest rating:

Excellent

5/12/2015

"Reception staff excellent.Comfortable room. Excellent breakfast. "

Guest rating:

Excellent

3/12/2015

"Excellent location and service from professional and friendly staff. "

Highly recommend this hotel, lovely room, great location and friendly professional staff. First class food too.

Guest rating:

Good

29/11/2015

"-"

Staff really friendly and helpful, rooms clean and comfortable the only miniscule moan was that there were minimal tea and no biscuit but such a small moan means everything else was very good. Would come back!

Guest rating:

Excellent

22/11/2015

"FANTASTIC HOTEL"

Stayed here for two nights with breakfast included. This hotel is in excellent and our experience was first class from start to finish. We had dinner here both evenings which were very good. The breakfast was outstanding - quality and variety of food was superb. Hotel location also very good. Highly recommend this hotel.

Guest rating:

Good

20/11/2015

"Very reasonable priced accomadation"

fantastic shower

Guest rating:

Excellent

18/11/2015

"wonderful stay at superb hotel."

brought our brother and sister in law to London for the weekend to celebrate their 50th birthdays. they were very impressed with our hotel choice and we all said we would come back to this hotel again.

More reviews >>

Expert advice

1800 937 937
Mon-Fri: 9am-8pm
Sat: 9am-5.30pm
Sun: 10am-6.30pm

Our rating system

Guest ratings and reviews are the opinions of our guests and not necessarily an expression of Hotel Direct opinion.

Excellent

Excellent

Good

Good

Average

Average

Some problems

Some problems

Poor

Poor