4 star

Astra Opera - Astotel

29 Rue de Caumartin, Opera, Paris, 75009

<< Previous page

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our average guest rating is the mean of the most recent 100 assessments.

Average guest rating:

Good

82% (26 reviews)

Guest rating:

Good

4/3/2014

"excellent location"

if anything bed a bit on small side, but nothing that would stop me going again. Overall impression very good.

Guest rating:

Excellent

29/11/2013

"-"

The staff were very friendly and couldn`t do enough for you, rooms were very comfortable, there was an excellent choice for breakfast, even though hotel is in the city centre, it was very quiet.

Guest rating:

Good

18/5/2012

"Great Location but tiny room"

Hotel in a fantastic location right in the middle of things. Staff helpful friendly but our room (105) was ridiculously small

Guest rating:

Good

27/2/2012

"The location was fantastic as in the middle of everything but not too busy. "

We were upgraded on arrival which is always a lovely treat. Our room was ok, however for the money the bath wasn`t very big and the toilet was seperate from the bathroom and was situated the other side of the room. Unfortunately the toilet had a really nasty smell, it looked very clean but just horrid smell. I also wanted to provide feedback on the spot lights in the hallway as it was quite dark and you didn`t get to see the theme of the walls which was a cow fur effect. It would look fab if more lighting. The staff at the hotel were very friendly really really nice and willing to help whenever.

Guest rating:

Good

24/2/2012

"Recommended"

Clean, efficient and extremely well situated.

Guest rating:

Excellent

20/2/2012

"Great location. Comfortable, modern rooms."

I was originally put into a smoking room. When i called to say hat i had booked a non-smoking room, i was upgraded to a room on the top floor with a small balcony/roof terrace. Very nice room. Shower was a bit weak but useable. Excellent location, 100m from the Metor and RER.

Guest rating:

Average

19/12/2010

"coffee and tea facilities needed in the rooms, very bad parking for large cars"

Guest rating:

Good

12/5/2010

"-"

Good location, very clean and comfortable.

Guest rating:

Some problems

22/3/2010

"I thought the room was very small for the price."

Some problems with the drains. I think one or more of the drainage traps must be repeatedly being blown out. The smell in the bathroom was unpleasant.I specifically booked a smoking room but was not offered one.

Guest rating:

Poor

15/11/2009

"rip off"

There was an error in the booking resulting in us turning up for friday/sat and being booked for sat/sun. They sorted us a room for friday at the rate we paid for the sat/sun put together.They were unable to offset any of the cost against not staying the sunday or shift the original booking.As a result we kept the booking of the sunday night we had paid for in case our circumstances changed. Then on the sunday they were phoning hassling us to leave the room at 3 pm even though we had paid for the night. it was almost as if they were trying to get someone else in.The whole experience left me somewhat suspicious of their booking procedures. The room itself was ok, big even by Parisienne standards, however for 190 per night you would expect at least a kettle in the room and access to the premium tv channels. I wont be going back.

Guest rating:

Good

26/9/2009

"comfortable twin bedded room, very clean."

everything my daughter and I needed as a base for a 3 day sightseeing trip to Paris.

Guest rating:

Excellent

1/9/2009

"Excellent location, very clean and modern with a good choice at breakfast."

When we booked this hotel we were not expecting such a modern and spacious hotel, only 5 minutes walk from the voissey bus/opera.The reception staff were very helpful on arrival and the bedroom whilst not the biggest was clean, modern with all the modern facilites you could wish for; flat screen tv, hairdryer, mini bar etc.Breakfast offered a variety of choice including sausages, bacon and scrambled egg, a range of beautiful fresh pastries and freshly squeezed orange, apricot or grapefruit juice.Service was good and even though we tried our best to speak French, all waiters spoke excellent English.This hotel is well worth a visit if you are looking for a central location and good value for money.

Guest rating:

Excellent

25/5/2009

"Quiet clean room.Excellent shower.Good value for central Paris.Staff helpful and good breakfast "

Guest rating:

Excellent

25/1/2009

"lovely central location"

Guest rating:

Good

5/12/2008

"Great location, limited services"

Perfect location for visiting anywhere in Paris. Room not ready until 3.30pm, then reception tried to SELL me upgrade for 100euro/night. No bar, not able to get a coffee or tea in hotel (even while being inconvenienced. Large double beds. Only hot part of breakfast was scrambled eggs every day and coffee, so not really a hot breakfast! Not soundproofed rooms. Clean hotel, curteous staff. Powerful shower but not able to stand in bath without flooding bathroom (no curtains or panels) No tea/coffee making facilities in rooms.Overall the position makes up for its faults.

Guest rating:

Good

26/11/2008

"Perfect apart from the size of the room"

Great location, good friendly staff, good breakfast. Only negative was the size of the room

Guest rating:

Excellent

1/9/2008

"Great value for money"

Guest rating:

Average

31/7/2008

"Very Good Location"

Other than the location, we would not rate as four star. We had two rooms and in both the showers left a lot to be desired - the hot water literally ran dry and when sharing three to a room this was a problem. However the staff were friendly and they did replace a faulty safe as soon as we reported it.

Guest rating:

Average

19/5/2008

"-"

On arrival, we were given a double room as per our booking, however, when we entred the room, we were not satisfied due to the fact that it was very small. We complained and were immediately given the option of upgrading for 50 euro per night, or the option of having a `Twin` room which would give us more room. WE opted for the Twin room which was much bigger and more pleasant. We had a nice stay at the hotel, with alll staff being very pleasant. The hotel is situated in a very expensive area of Paris, therefore, be carefull which restaraunt you choose for lunch and dinner. The Hotel was quite central to all attractions (Opera). and very convenient for the Metro, Tour buses, and the Roissy bus to and from Charles De Gaull airport.

Guest rating:

Some problems

22/4/2008

"very noisy"

Having requested a family room we were provided with a room on the first floor directly over the main entrance to the hotel that has automatic doors. the doors open and closed every time someone passed by on the street. As well as being noisy and irritating the vibration was felt through floor by my daughters sleeping on the sofa bed. The noise from passers by in the street was quite rowdy at certain times of the night and the early morning bin lorries made for little sleep!

Guest rating:

Excellent

3/3/2008

"The perfect base for a walk around Paris."

Reasonable price, good breakfast, clean and tidy room, relaxed and helpful staff, fantastic location! This was our 1st visit to Paris; a weekend stay to celebrate my wife`s 50th. The Astra was the perfect base for exploring ALL of the main sites of interest. ( and a great little restaurant , Le Paris Madeira about 40metres away When we return to Paris it will be to the Astra.

Expert advice

1800 937 937
Mon-Fri: 9am-8pm
Sat: 9am-5.30pm
Sun: 10am-6.30pm

Our rating system

Guest ratings and reviews are the opinions of our guests and not necessarily an expression of Hotel Direct opinion.

Excellent

Excellent

Good

Good

Average

Average

Some problems

Some problems

Poor

Poor