4 star

Park Plaza London Riverbank

18 Albert Embankment, Waterloo, London, SE1 7TJ

<< Previous page

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our average guest rating is the mean of the most recent 100 assessments.

Average guest rating:

Excellent

91% (840 reviews)

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

Average

28/7/2019

"Have stayed in cleaner 3 star hotels"

Initially impressed by the outside of the hotel and the number of staff willing to help point us in the right direction for checking in. After waiting a long time to do that we were then told to hold on while the reception then dealt with the person behind us first! We were then told at the swimming pool it was fully booked til 12 the next day, after checking out!! The room itself was ok but it hadn`t been hoovered and unfortunately the shower hadn`t been cleaned either....found a little black curly hair by the shower handle and i don`t want to know how it wound up there! The room was also dark as the room window faced an enclosed court type area but my 9 year old loved the electric curtains and touch screen to control the lights....that did not get annoying!!! The location was good and a local shop just next door if you don`t want to spend all your holiday money on the hotel food.

Guest rating:

Excellent

20/4/2019

"Like a magical wonderland. How I always imagined a Glamourous hotel should be."

Everything was sparkling, Huge TV in the bedroom. Several modes of lighting/Aircon/ Curtains everything controlled on one panel. Room service was swift and friendly. All the staff worship you from the minute you walk in to the moment they wish you farewell. My wife and I have never felt better about ourselves in our whole lives. Thank you :)

Guest rating:

Excellent

16/4/2019

"Welcoming staff, lovely room"

Guest rating:

Good

7/4/2019

"OK hotel."

The appearance was grandiose but some of the basics were left wanting. The room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast which we paid extra for was difficult on both days as the area was overcrowded. Sat at the bar on first day and then in a conference room on the second. Poached eggs turned up after rest of breakfast eaten on first day then toaster broken on second day. Had to request basic teabags for the room as were not included by housekeeping. Soap vanished after first day and not replaced in the bathroom. Concierge were brilliant and helpful in everything we needed. Thank you. So some very good and some not so, hence OK hotel.

Guest rating:

Good

7/4/2019

"-"

Clean comfortable room only downside was tv reception was very poor and tv kept losing signal.

Guest rating:

Excellent

18/3/2019

"Very reasonably priced to stay but bar was way over priced."

Amazing hotel, ticked all of the boxes. One big problem though is the bar prices. 14 for a gun and tonic,how can that be right. So 2 round of drinks= 2 pints, one coffee. One Irish coffee. One glass of wine and 2 gin and tonics. 1 vodka and coke. 79.99. To say we were shocked is an understatement. That alone would keep us away from this otherwise long very hotal.

Guest rating:

Excellent

11/3/2019

"A nice modern hotel conveniently located"

I have stayed here a number of times. It is well-placed; the rooms are modern and comfortable and the staff friendly and efficient.

Guest rating:

Excellent

20/2/2019

"Hotel was amazing . Clean , modern and very friendly staff. Definitely be back in the future ."

Guest rating:

Excellent

19/2/2019

"Beautiful hotel. Great location."

Guest rating:

Good

11/2/2019

"Not bad"

Lovely hotel and room. Clean, comfortable and fab bathroom. However, for the price of a one night stay it should include breakfast, which was an additional eye watering 25. Far too overpriced in itself, especially as it should be included.

Guest rating:

Excellent

20/1/2019

"-"

We loved the hotel and it was near to everything we needed. The only downside was the breakfast. It was very poor for 16 per person. The initial coffee they served me was cold an it was difficult to explain that as quite a few of the staff couldn`t speak very good English. The food was also cold and had been cooked a long time despite up going in at 08:45Otherwise all happy

Guest rating:

Good

11/12/2018

"-"

Very nice stay clean ,quiet and comfortable only reason not for an excellent is that the air conditioning was set to warm and didn`t cool the room very well

Guest rating:

Excellent

27/11/2018

"Park Plaza Riverbank"

Spacious and high standard room with tea/coffee factilities and a min-bar - although this would not open despite having left the required deposit when we checked in. The lighting and curtains were operated from panels close to the bed which was very convenient and the room was quiet and comfortable.The hotel is on the south of the river, Vauxhall tube station is about a 7 minute walk, there are bus stops about a similar distance away.

Guest rating:

Excellent

25/11/2018

"Park Plaza Riverside - lovely and friendly"

Great hotel. Lovely friendly staff. Large, clean, smart room. Air con etc. Great choice at breakfast. A good 15/20 mins walk approx from Westminster Station. Good location. Would definitely go back.

Guest rating:

Average

5/11/2018

"Very clean and modern with good views. Not worth it`s money and breakfast was appalling"

Guest rating:

Excellent

22/10/2018

"-"

We found the hotel for our special occasion rearly special, we only had two nights and our schedule was very tight. Our room over looking the Thames was lovely all in all hotel and staff were great especially Don in the reception area, a very cheerful and helpful man

Guest rating:

Excellent

13/10/2018

"-"

Fabulous hotel with great staff, only let down was breakfast was not included and had to pay 50 room service charge

Guest rating:

Excellent

23/9/2018

"Great location"

Lovely hotel, great room, and friendly staff, only 15 minutes walk to everywhere

Guest rating:

Excellent

2/9/2018

"Stunning location "

Fantastic stay. Very welcoming staff. Incredibly huge and comfortable bed . Lovely clean room with great amenities.

Guest rating:

Excellent

22/7/2018

"Comfy, quiet and cosy"

This hotel had really comfortable beds - which was great! The rooms were quiet and the air con was lovely - very welcomed after the hot sunny streets of London!

Guest rating:

Excellent

8/7/2018

"Convenient and Comfortable"

Well located along the south embankment, very comfortable rooms with good service from the staff.

Guest rating:

Excellent

6/7/2018

"-"

Very modern and a wonderfully spacious room

Guest rating:

Excellent

1/7/2018

"-"

Hotel fantastic. Staff very helpful and friendly. Would stay again

Guest rating:

Excellent

10/5/2018

"Superb hotel"

Celebrated my 80th birthday and had chocolates and wine

Guest rating:

Excellent

29/4/2018

"Definitely would recommend!"

Just returned from fabulous 3 night stay at Park Plaza Riverbank. Could not fault this hotel in any way. We stayed in an Executive room, bright, modern, tastefully decorated & spotlessly clean. Friendly efficient staff. Excellent breakfast. We had dinner in Chino Latino all 3 nights - first class food & lovely ambience . Live music. Would certainly recommend.

Guest rating:

Excellent

23/4/2018

"Park Plaza Riverside"

What a hotel. First impressions stunning. Wonderful staff so polite and very helpful. Comfortable beds. Air con in the rooms. We didn`t eat there but our experience of the hotel was fantastic. We would defiantly book again.

Guest rating:

Excellent

19/3/2018

"Our hotel stay was simply stunning, rooms, food and our arrival at our room was fantastic. "

Guest rating:

Excellent

19/3/2018

"Hotel Lovely, location just right."

Hotel, was modern, clean and luxurious, staff helpful and friendly.

Guest rating:

Average

30/12/2017

"No river view"

Misleading description of hotel - warning no swimming pool, spa or river view

Guest rating:

Excellent

14/12/2017

"-"

This hotel is one of the best I have ever stayed in . The staff were always friendly. The room was very well equipped and very clean. Use Vauxhall underground station as it`s much nearer the hotel than Waterloo you can be in Oxford Circus in 8 mins. I would stay here again .

Guest rating:

Good

29/7/2017

"Very nice hotel"

Very nice hotel, helpful staff, nice rooms and really great breakfast. Only thing is I thought the rooms could have been cleaner.

Guest rating:

Good

24/7/2017

"Good quality hotel with a lovely bar overlooking the Thames. "

The staff were great on arrival and took our bags and gave us complimentary water bottles (it was hot!) so we could go and explore the Imperial War Museum and check in when we came back. Vauxhall tube station was closed so getting to/from attractions was not easy as we found out that works on quite a few lines were scheduled for the weekend. Nothing the hotel could do about it, but it would make me re-think staying south of the river because it is just not as well connected. The room was spacious, all facilities great, and a very nice breakfast with freshly cooked eggs. I did object to an automatic service charge being placed on our drinks bills - bit cheeky! It wouldn`t have been discovered if I hadn`t asked to see the bar bills when checking out.

Guest rating:

Some problems

12/7/2017

"Disappointing"

Arrived at 2pm, the allocated check in time to be told our room would not be ready for another 2 hours! That meant we had to meet our son in the clothes we had travelled up in. No apology or advice where we could get changed! Lobby was dark and dingy so we ended up scrabbling about in our.bags trying to change should oes at least! Room was ok when we arrived later although there were marks on sheets and pillowcases. No tea available in room had to ring housekeeping . And a shard of glass on bathroom floor. Not what we were expecting for a 4* hotel and for the price we paid. Will not be returning 128532;

Guest rating:

Average

16/6/2017

"Possibly the most expensive bacon sandwich in the uk"

Guest rating:

Excellent

21/5/2017

"Classy Hotel"

Lovely clean upmarket room, comfortable beds, spacious room. Great location. View could have been better. Would come again to this hotel.

Guest rating:

Excellent

10/4/2017

"-"

Have just spent 2 days in Park Plaza River Bank hotel with my 50 yr. old daughter. Excellent hotel, very friendly efficient staff. Beautiful clean rooms. I requested a quiet room & got one, we weren`t bothered about a room with a view as we only used it to sleep in. We did not use the restaurant but it was nicely located overlooking the river. Will definitely use this hotel in future as it is so easy to walk to the centre even though it`s on the South Bank. Can definitely recommend this hotel.

Guest rating:

Excellent

4/4/2017

"Nice rooms, very friendly and efficient staff. Great location easy to get about London. "

Guest rating:

Excellent

19/11/2016

"Great service, lovely hotel."

We were welcomed by warm and courteous staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Would happily stay again.

Guest rating:

Excellent

8/11/2016

"Wow"

The welcome & staff were all friendly polite & most helpful. The Hotel was spotlessly clean the rooms very modern & Birthday treat left in room was Fabulous. The food was delicious & had everything you could want. Our stay was made very special by the Hospitality of the staff at this lovely Hotel. Thank you all so much

Guest rating:

Some problems

23/10/2016

"-"

Due to some building works at front of hotel check in was very busy and we had to queue for a while. Rooms had everything we needed and beds very comfortable. Went down to restaurant for breakfast and was told they were busy and give us a voucher for the Restaurant Latino upstairs. Poor service by waiting staff. Were told we could sit at the bar for breakfast and we said no thank you so waited for a table! We had to make our own toast, coffee, was lukewarm, no cutlery on table and no fried eggs at the buffet. Not what we expected for the price paid. Will not choose to stay here again unfortunately.

More reviews >>

Expert advice

1800 937 937
Mon-Fri: 9am-8pm
Sat: 9am-5.30pm
Sun: 10am-6.30pm

Our rating system

Guest ratings and reviews are the opinions of our guests and not necessarily an expression of Hotel Direct opinion.

Excellent

Excellent

Good

Good

Average

Average

Some problems

Some problems

Poor

Poor