3 star

Lord Jim Hotel London Kensington

23-25 Penywern Road, Earls Court, London, SW5 9TT

<< Previous page

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our average guest rating is the mean of the most recent 100 assessments.

Average guest rating:

Average

72% (67 reviews)

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

Excellent

31/7/2019

"Pleasant and clean, nice staff"

Guest rating:

Average

28/6/2019

"-"

Hotel was clean, but dated, Bathroom and room very small, friends had a much bigger room for same number of people. Good continental breakfast. lift not working throughout our stay, which was not good. Easy to get toOverall good value for money

Guest rating:

Average

12/6/2019

"-"

Room in need of decorating. Staff excellent

Guest rating:

Good

5/6/2019

"-"

Well placed near tube station. Friendly hotel, basic but comfortable

Guest rating:

Poor

20/5/2019

"Horrible"

I can not list the amount of problems we had I wish to complain most strongly the hotel was filthy I want compensation

Guest rating:

Some problems

29/4/2019

"Moved to another hotel, from Lord Jim to Victor, in Pimlico whilst we were on the journey there"

There was a problem with the room at The Lord Jim and we were contacted to inform us that we`d been moved to a sister hotel, Victor in Pimlico. The new hotel was as conveniently placed for us and appeared of a similar standard, maybe even marginally better. The hotel was clean and smart and whilst the rooms were slightly small, this was to be expected and not a problem to us at all. Whilst it was alarming that the hotel was changed so close to arriving (we were on the train on the way to London with route and means already sorted), I guess these things can happen and credit should be given to them for the efficiency and politeness with which we were approached, dealt with and transferred.

Guest rating:

Average

12/4/2019

"-"

Basic but clean. we were unlucky with our room - it was downstairs and, for some reason, much hotter than the ground floor. Would be awful in the summer months. The beds were too soft (we all ended up with backache). Might have been better for one night. Other than that, exactly what you would hope for in a budget hotel.

Guest rating:

Average

10/4/2019

"Basic "

Lumpy mattresses and basic

Guest rating:

Average

7/4/2019

"Ok for the price"

The Lord Jim is a small hotel conveniently located 2 minutes from the nearest tube. The room we had was very small and cramped with very little space to move. The bathroom was also tiny and you would struggle to get past the shower if you are a larger person. The room was clean but a little run down, the toilet cistern had a crack down it, the blind did not fit the window so light was streaming in first thing in the morning. For one night the room was fine and as I say I think the price reflects the standard.

Guest rating:

Excellent

24/3/2019

"Lord Jim Hotel"

Lovely clean hotel, friendly staff and 24 hour reception! We went out for a full english in the morning as hotel serve a continental breakfast

Guest rating:

Some problems

15/3/2019

"Disappointing"

Basic, almost pokey bedroom. Bathroom very pokey, but clean and functional; no glass or receptacle for water, toothbrush etc. Only one towed, albeit a huge one.Would have been good to have water, biscuits and a saucer for the one cup in bedroom; also a window that didn`t rattle. Light defect; bulb replaced (very quickly on request) but out the following morning. Obviously an electrical fault in system.

Guest rating:

Some problems

23/2/2019

"-"

The room was very small, basic but clean. Couldn`t have a decent wash as shower was so small. Bathroom door didn`t open fully and kept knocking into it. Television didn`t work. Apart from that, staff were friendly and accomodating and continental breakfast was worth 7.50.

Guest rating:

Some problems

24/12/2018

"Cramped and unclean. "

It is a cheap hotel and this becomes obvious when you get there. Our room had beds for three with hardly enough room for one. The floor seemed dirty, probably because they could not get a vacuum cleaner in. The bathroom was a step up and had mould spots on the tiles. 10 for a continental breakfast is a bit steep.

Guest rating:

Good

21/12/2018

"Verry nine pipe."

We had a good time in the Hotel.

Guest rating:

Good

12/12/2018

"Good hotel but rooms VERY small"

Had everything we needed, lovely friendly staff and on a quiet street. The room however was tiny one person had to stand by the door if the other was moving around. If the room was slightly bigger it would be a brilliant hotel.

Guest rating:

Good

2/12/2018

"-"

Clean accommodation but rather small. Staff extremely helpful and knowledgeable.

Guest rating:

Average

26/10/2018

"-"

Posive feedback. Please clean under beds and use mold cleaner in bathrooms. Hotel looking tired needs a upgrade. Staff extremely good

Guest rating:

Average

26/10/2018

"Overall it is what was expected "

Budget hotel in great location for our needs ., Staff were polite and helpful. Beds a little uncomfortable., but over all ok .

Guest rating:

Average

23/9/2018

"Basic but would use again."

Good location close to Earls Court underground station. Plenty of choice for food and drink.

Guest rating:

Excellent

26/8/2018

"Lord Jim, Earl`s Court."

Clean, tidy. Good base for moving around London. Close to Earl`s Court tube station. Friendly staff with great sense of humour. (Claudia) Willing to do any thing to help. Would stay again.

Guest rating:

Average

23/6/2018

"-"

Room was clean and tidy. The TV didn`t work and my 6 year was not happy about that!! But overall nicentre place.

Guest rating:

Good

15/10/2017

"One night stay "

Room nice and clean can`t fault the hotel at all .

Guest rating:

Good

11/8/2017

" Clean, convenient with lovely staff, very good value. If you want 5 star, pay for 5 star."

Guest rating:

Some problems

3/7/2017

"Room not very big "

Triple room but not very big , could hardly move around the single and double bed. It was an attic room lift to 3rd floor stairs up to 4th . Not ready when we arrived, close to tube station was a bonus. Breakfast ok. But won`t recommend or stay again

Guest rating:

Excellent

23/6/2017

"My 2 day London trip!"

Recently I took a trip back to London to catch up with old friends and stayed at The Lord Jim, on arrival I was greeted by a very friendly and helpful young lady, sadly I can not recall her name, the entrance/lobby was very clean & tidy. The room was the same very clean, tidy. The bed very comfortable, bathroom spotless with clean towels every day. The top of the shower was slightly lose at the wall, I mentioned this at the front desk and a maintenance man was there literally seconds later coming up the stairs to put It right, 20 minutes later all fixed Totally Brilliant service, asked for a good local pub at front desk and again very helpful. Overall a fantastic stay in a clean and well managed hotel would & will happily stay there again.

Guest rating:

Average

21/6/2017

"-"

Basic hotel to use as somewhere to stay and have breakfast. Our room was small but tidy.No English breakfast available.

Guest rating:

Some problems

25/5/2017

"-"

Single bed room which was more like a cell Woodchip painted no plug for sink reminded me off a cheap b&b wouldn`t stay there again . Staff were OK

Guest rating:

Average

27/3/2017

"-"

Although the hotel staff were very friendly and obliging. The rooms that my family and I stayed in are very dated. They need a massive regeneration. There was some damp on the wall near the radiator and the top of rad was filled with dust. The beds appeared clean and were very comfy. The breakfast was simple continental. Overall a very budget hotel but great location.

Guest rating:

Good

2/3/2017

"Small rooms but clean and all in all a good budget hotel "

Guest rating:

Poor

29/1/2017

"never could stay here again even if Lord Jim was paying "

the room was smaller than a cupboard and a small child would struggle in the shower it was that small.The room was uncomfortably hot. The staff where uninterested and at one point a maid barged in our room a little after 6pm assuming it was empty not somewhere I`d never recommend.

Guest rating:

Good

26/10/2016

"-"

Friendly, welcoming staff. Room clean and comfortable.Quiet area.

Guest rating:

Average

20/10/2016

"room size"

hotel was looking a bit tired,needs a good paint job. our room was adequate for 1 night but on the small side.

Guest rating:

Some problems

22/9/2016

"Grotty single room"

I booked the accommodation at late notice, needing a single room for one night as I was up in London on business, so there was not much choice. The single room was tiny, no bedside table or light, tiny basin with no plug. The room was more the size of a linen cupboard. At breakfast there was no proper cereal on offer other than instant porridge, how difficult is it to provide some muesli? The breakfast room is in the basement with no natural light. At least the room was on the quieter side of the building. Overall - mediocre and to be avoided.

Guest rating:

Poor

8/8/2016

"Tiny Rooms/Paper Thin Walls"

I had contacted the hotel well in advance beforehand to make sure we had a nice, comfortable room and explained the reason for our trip to London was that I was secretly going to propose. I was assured by the hotel that they would do their best to make our stay enjoyable. We arrived and were given the keys to a tiny room to the side of the lift, I enquired at reception about changing rooms only to be given a key to another room equally as small and told afterwards that all rooms are that size. The en-suite was also a joke...I could barely turn in it without banging an elbow. We could also hear other guests in their rooms through the walls. Staff were friendly and courteous but I`m sure they`ve had to deal with these same problems before. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Guest rating:

Good

10/7/2016

"Great overall experience"

I had a twin room for my friend I. It was quite a compact room but it had everything I needed. Most importantly it was clean. Everything in the room worked. The beds were comfortable and sheets were clean. The towels they provided were clean. Bright white and a decent size. The staff were really helpful and very happy with the service the hotel provided. I would be very happy to stay here again.

Guest rating:

Average

31/5/2016

"Rooms Small but clean great location"

Spotty internet and Zero outside phone capabilities. Great Location and close to the tube station you get what you pay for ONLY Just.

Guest rating:

Excellent

18/5/2016

"Good hotel"

Disappointed so far from the theatre. We had OAP bus pass and it took an hour in the daytime to get to the theatre.We didn`t want to have a meal before the show but got back too late for local restaurants & bars. The hotel provided good accommodation. The staff were particularly helpful,in providing bus routes. Room was a bit cramped, one side of bed was against wall so no place to put bedside items.

Guest rating:

Good

8/5/2016

"Nice hotel"

Could do with air conditioning, very warm in rooms

Guest rating:

Poor

24/4/2016

"Rude arrogant "

My son and his wife arrived to be told their room was no longer available as they had given it away due to someone else coming with cash. Their room was already paid for offered a refund on London marathon weekend then said they could have two seperated single rooms eventually s twin room was offered but attitude was appalling

Guest rating:

Good

22/2/2016

"-"

Lovely looking hotel, friendly staff, Clean rooms, Comfortable beds (didn`t want to get out lol), Location spot on! Would like to stay again. Needed more milk though - 3 people in the room, we love our tea/coffee not enough to round each day x

More reviews >>

Expert advice

1800 937 937
Mon-Fri: 9am-8pm
Sat: 9am-5.30pm
Sun: 10am-6.30pm

Our rating system

Guest ratings and reviews are the opinions of our guests and not necessarily an expression of Hotel Direct opinion.

Excellent

Excellent

Good

Good

Average

Average

Some problems

Some problems

Poor

Poor