4 star

4 star on the Southbank

Hidden Gem hotel

<< Previous page

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our average guest rating is the mean of the most recent 100 assessments.

Average guest rating:

Good

89% (58 reviews)

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

Excellent

23/7/2019

"-"

the hotel xxxxx Plazza xxxxx is a very nice hotel, very clean and the room we had was very nice and breakfast was busy but very good, would stay in this hotel again

Guest rating:

Good

19/5/2019

"Lovely, modern hotel, horrible sofa bed! "

Slightly further out but it was just about within walking distance to Trafalgar Square &the Strand (where all the theatres are.) Lovely, modern, extremely clean hotel with all the mod cons, lovely restaurant/bar and fabulous, friendly staff a-plentiful. Our original room given to us was disappointing however. 3 adults to what was only a small double room was not acceptable, especially when we thought we had booked a triple executive. So I complained & was given a lovely, large room (with a disappointing view) straight away, the staff were very accommodating. However it was a bedroom with a sofa bed in a separate living area, it was already made up for us. But my lord, it was the most uncomfortable bed I`ve EVER slept on. The springs literally dug into every bone of my body. Really disappointing for such a lovely hotel. The rooms were beautiful. Tea/coffee facilities, breakfast was great. Lots of choice & again, lovely helpful & happy staff.

Guest rating:

Excellent

5/1/2019

"Reasonable "

Just very very dark hotel. Which is a strange thing to review on. But you cant see in the bathroom properly and it starts to feel quite oppressive after a while.

Guest rating:

Excellent

22/10/2018

" xxxxx on the River"

Moved the booking from the 4 star to the 5 star as it was for a special celebration and decided to pay to upgrade. The hotel was aware of the 50th Birthday celebrations and went out of their way to make it special in every way. Particular thanks go to Mark Spanjal the customer service duty manager I spoke to an the very hospitable receptionist, Alcjahdro Rics. Darren in the executive lounge who was very kind, personable and attentive.

Guest rating:

Excellent

16/10/2018

"-"

The hotel and staff were amazing ,the best nights sleep I`ve had in a hotel, easy to walk to all attractions and centre of London.

Guest rating:

Good

14/10/2018

"Lovely hotel comfortable room very clean good breakfast but go before 9 as it gets very busy 59734;"

Guest rating:

Excellent

9/3/2018

"Great Hotel........."

We spent 3 days at this Hotel and had a great time. The staff we attentive without being overbearing. The rooms were very good, with everything we needed, ie coffee/tea facilities, bathroom products. The only slight downside was that the rooms that are shown on line with views over the Thames were only Executive ones,even though we upgraded we only had a view of the building next door. The bar and dining room were a joy as we could sit and watch the world go by on the river. All in all we did enjoy our stay

Guest rating:

Excellent

25/8/2017

"Satisfied customers "

Very nice hotel. Modern and slick. Room size nice and spacious for us. Bathroom with separate shower cubicle and full bath. Only took breakfast in hotel but had everything we required. Buffet style service mostly and all fresh and promptly refreshed. Corridors very presentable. No long waits for lifts. Reception and entrance staff answered all queries - maybe a Little aloof though. Within walking distance of Westminster, Trafalgar Square right up to Piccadilly Circus. Would recommend and would stay again.

Guest rating:

Average

12/9/2016

"Nice room but no view. Very loud noise outside all night. Toilet not flushing. "

Nice staff nice breakfast but for money nothing less than you would expect. Stayed in better for less

Guest rating:

Some problems

28/8/2016

"Despite booking a superior room our "view" was another wing of the hotel about 10 yards away."

We changed rooms and my husband had to repair the shower door, which allowed water on to the floor. The reading light in the ceiling didn`t work and was taped up. Staff knocked on the door and walked in to check the minibar/fridge, which initially would` open. We were charged 12 83 for three bottles of non alcoholic beer. This included a 12.5% service charge, even though we had poured the drink ourselves. When we queried the charge, the survey waitress simply said they charge this on all bar purchases. We queried at reception and were told to se the duty manger. There was never a duty manger available - (s)he was `somewhere in the hotel`. Expensive for poor service. Breakfast was average but at least the food was warm. If you fancy an omelette the extra cost was 9.50.

Guest rating:

Average

20/7/2016

"Not bad"

Guest rating:

Good

30/5/2016

"Great location for many of the sights."

Great service,good location. Lovely breakfasts.

Guest rating:

Good

11/5/2016

"Nice hotel, good service"

It`s a lovely hotel but has a lot of construction around. Will be great when finished.

Guest rating:

Excellent

17/4/2016

"it was such a good weekend the staff made our weekend really special "

Guest rating:

Some problems

22/2/2016

"A nice place to stay"

This was the second time we have stayed at this hotel. It is a nice hotel, conveniently placed for many places of interest and it gives good value for money. Good breakfasts and courteous staff. We had problems with the room not being serviced on one of the days of our stay(until we asked at 16.00). The room was hot, the AC did not work and the window was locked.so an uncomfortable night

Guest rating:

Excellent

18/2/2016

"lovely clean hotel staff very pleasent and helpfull one of are rooms was very cold "

Guest rating:

Average

14/2/2016

"Ok"

So stayed here with my girfriend on sat night, on arrival noticed a lot of building works local and to the hotel but wasn`t to fussed, so arrived about 45 mins before check in but the room was ready and they was happy for us to enter early, we was offered a room with an interior view or exterior view, the way the girl at reception put it was that the exterior view would be facing the river so we chose this option, on arrival into the room the first thing we done was to check the view only to discover it was of a back alley with a train track, now although we didn`t expect any nice view prior to booking I think they should of stated the view point of the room after giving us options, the room itself was basic but perfect for what we needed it for, one thing I would say is the room was very cold on arrival so we put the heating on straight away, the air con sounding like a hurricane and was well to noisy, Breakfast was standard with friendly staff

Guest rating:

Excellent

10/2/2016

"Great weekend stay"

Excellent hotel very clean.Very friendly and helpful staff. We felt comfortable. Breakfast excellent with plenty of choice.

Guest rating:

Excellent

25/1/2016

"Great location, great deal !"

Great location and price with breakfast included, served in room at no extra cost.Staff were very friendly and efficient.

Guest rating:

Excellent

17/1/2016

"Fantastic room, very clean, breakfast was great lots of variety "

Guest rating:

Excellent

20/12/2015

"Highly recommended."

Excellent location to hop-on and off the tune, close to most attractions like Big Ben and London Eye. Hotel room excellent, staff very helpful at all times, Great choice of breakfast.

Guest rating:

Excellent

17/12/2015

"Nice classy hotel"

This hotel was in a nice location,and was very nice, apart from our bedroom carpet which was dirty and damaged and really let it down. Apart from that couldnt fault it, fab bathroom, all you could possibly need, brilliant breakfast. Would stay again.

Guest rating:

Good

13/12/2015

"Nice hotel with great river views"

The xxxxx xxxxx is a nice hotel with spacious, clean rooms and helpful staff. When we arrived the room we were given did not have the river view we were expecting and we had to upgrade which cost us an extra 60 so be careful when booking. It was worth it though as the river view was great. The room was spacious, clean and well equipped but if you order room service be sure to ring them when you have finished or your trays and dishes will be outside your door for at least 24 hours. The staff are very helpful and friendly and will respond quickly and politely to anything you ask for.

Guest rating:

Good

7/12/2015

"-"

Hotel was lovely but much too hot in two out of three rooms we occupied and we could not adjust the temperature.

Guest rating:

Excellent

7/12/2015

"great location "

short walk from Vauxhall tube station , slightly further to the Embankment tube station ,but a lovely walk without the suitcases .Room was very good , breakfast enjoyable ,staff ,courteous and helpful . Would definitely stay again

Guest rating:

Good

30/11/2015

"Decent accommodation at a fair price"

Had a wet winters weekend in London, this hotel is of a good quality and fairly priced. There is currently some building work going on and we overlooked a hotel in construction, neither of which had a particularly negative impact apart from visually. Rooms clean and modern, room service unusually good value, breakfast was of a decent standard too. Hotel very busy due to a wedding group, so cues for lifts and breakfast room. Nice efficient polite staff.

Guest rating:

Average

19/10/2015

"Average hotel, surrounded by building sites. "

Gloomy room with dreary fixed overhead lighting only, and stained carpets

Guest rating:

Excellent

18/7/2015

"staff very helpful and polite"

Very pleased with our stay the staff were very helpful and polite rooms were pretty spacious clean and well equipped the food was also very good apart from the tea served at breakfast which was tepid at best and when replaced it was no better

Guest rating:

Excellent

22/5/2015

"-"

Excellent hotel in good location. Staff were very friendly and although there is building work going on at the moment, it didn`t spoil our very enjoyable stay.

Guest rating:

Good

3/3/2015

"Hotel scores good rather than excellent because of train lines behind and construction site next doo"

Staff friendly and helpful.we were given a great map by the concierge which showed all sights, underground stations and where to catch the water buses.Breakfast delicious, room comfortable. They stored our bags on the last day so we could go off sight seeing and we collected around 7pm just before we caught the train home. This meant we could enjoy our last day to the full. The hotel was a few minutes walk from Lambeth bridge so convenient for sight seeing. The only complaint were the train lines at the back which interrupted our sleep due to the noise and we were on the side of the hotel. This was a shame!!! Maybe thicker glazing would help- I tried ear plugs! Apart from that we had an enjoyable stay.

Guest rating:

Excellent

1/3/2015

" xxxxx xxxxx"

excellent location, very welcoming front of house staff, def stay again

Guest rating:

Excellent

23/2/2015

"Extremely Helpful Staff"

Allowed us to check in early and check out late ensuring we had plenty of time to explore the area and take leisurely strolls down the Embankment.

Guest rating:

Some problems

22/2/2015

"Good standard generally. "

Guest rating:

Good

22/2/2015

"Weekend Show Break"

We loved the positioning of the hotel and the breakfast and the comfort and cleanliness. Rooms have internet access that plugs straight into the back or your laptop or wifi. However the room was very hot and couldn`t figure out how to cool it down, there was no airflow from the open window. The rooms that do not face the Thames are dark therefore seems as if its dark and night time all day long (not sure if that`s to do with the work currently going or it`s permanent). Our bags sat in reception for over an hour on arrival as the entrance staff didn`t correctly mark our bags even after double checking with him to make sure what room we were in. Once we called down this was resolved. The TV was very temperamental with channels constantly freezing and disrupting films. I`d use the hotel again but would request a river view room

Guest rating:

Good

11/2/2015

"Great central hotel ideal for a weekend break"

Can`t fault the hotel or the staff. It was very clean and to a high standard. However, the heating system was noisy and kept us awake at night...

Guest rating:

Excellent

9/2/2015

"-"

Clean good service

Guest rating:

Excellent

8/2/2015

"Excellent Hotel"

Excellent Hotel , immaculate , friendly staff, lovely room comfortable bed

Guest rating:

Excellent

8/2/2015

"Very impressed with this hotel"

Had a lovely stay here, the whole experience from check in to check out was a pleasure, the room was lovely, the bar area was lovely and the staff all smiles and very helpful.

Guest rating:

Excellent

8/2/2015

"Lovely hotel, woild use again."

Guest rating:

Good

18/1/2015

"Great brekkie"

Very good but a lot of rooms only have view over internal quad. We asked for an alternative, and after being shown one which was on eye level with the railway tracks, we were given one with a bit of a river view. Staff great, brekkie very good.

More reviews >>

Expert advice

1800 937 937
Mon-Fri: 9am-8pm
Sat: 9am-5.30pm
Sun: 10am-6.30pm

Our rating system

Guest ratings and reviews are the opinions of our guests and not necessarily an expression of Hotel Direct opinion.

Excellent

Excellent

Good

Good

Average

Average

Some problems

Some problems

Poor

Poor